Have you ever wondered how the court system works after you get a DUI Arrest in Georgia?
This post is all about what happens behind the scenes after you are arrested for a DUI in Metro Atlanta.
When you get arrested for a DUI in Georgia you will be taken to the jail in the county of your arrest. If the police arrest you in Marietta, they will take you to the Cobb County jail. Some cities have their own jails. At the jail, a judge will assign a bond for your release. Often, the bail will be around $1,000. Rarely, the judge may grant you a signature or “own recognizance” bond. This means that you can leave jail without paying any money on the promise that you will attend court.
The police officer writes up a report detailing everything about your case. This report is an overview of all of the evidence that the police collected against you. The police will also take notes that aren’t included in the report. These notes are even more detailed and include the things you said, how you acted, and what the results of your breath or blood test were. The officer’s notes are what he or she use to prepare for trial.
It is important to hire a lawyer as soon as possible. Once you get out of jail, you should try to write down as many details about your arrest as you can. Contact an attorney to discuss and start defending your case.
You only have 10 days to request an Administrative License Suspension hearing. If you wait longer, your driver’s license gets suspended for a year even before you get convicted for DUI.
Do not wait, you need to talk to an Atlanta attorney about your case! Contact Block Law at (770) 824-3030 for a free consultation today!
Make note of the court date on your DUI ticket.
This first court date is an arraignment. Often, if you have an attorney, he or she may tell you that you don’t have to go to this court date. The police officer schedules the court date. Be aware that your charges may change when the prosecutor look at the facts and determines what he or she can prove against you.
Next, the officer that arrested you, files the tickets with the court and the prosecutor. The prosecutor reviews the file and decides if the state should charge you with DUI or something else. Usually, the prosecutor will review the file before your first court appearance. Sometimes, the prosecutor will take a few weeks to review your case. Other times it could take months. For more information about how long your DUI case may take click here.