DUIs are expensive!
This is probably the biggest understatement in the law.
This post is about the costs of being convicted for a Georgia DUI. A DUI will cost you time and thousands of dollars upfront. Additionally, there are hidden costs that may take years to pay off. The average DUI in Georgia costs more than $10,000.
Surcharges: up to 50% more
Supervision fees: $50 per month for the duration of your probation
Treatment fees: around $200 to $500 or more depending on how much if any treatment is recommended.
Class tuition costs: $210
Increased insurance premiums: this depends on your insurance company and may last for years after you are convicted for DUI.
These costs will balloon the amount of money you will have to pay in order to get your life back to normal. In all, you could be looking at $10,000 to $20,000.
For the most part, the biggest cost for a DUI conviction in Georgia is the loss of your driver’s license. If you are convicted for a Georgia DUI your license will be suspended for a year. You may be eligible for a limited driving permit after 120 days. If you have to drive for work, you would need to find a ride or face losing $15,000 or more.
Most attorneys charge between $2,000 and $5,000 for representation in a DUI case. It may seem like a lot of money to hire a lawyer but it is worth it and here is why. If you go to court and just plead guilty to a DUI charge you are looking at upwards of $10,000 to $20,000 out of pocket expenses. If you hire an attorney there is a possibility that they could get your charges reduced or even dismissed. No DUI attorney could or should guarantee an outcome.
In many cases, I am able to get your case reduced in some way. For example, if your DUI charge is reduced, you may still have a fine but most of the surcharges, costs for treatment, and loss of license would be avoided and your out of pocket costs would be in the ballpark of $4,000 to $7,000 instead of $10,000 to $20,000 or more.
Schedule Your Free Consultation!